EPFL

In April 2016, PSL and École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) signed an agreement aimed at developing strong research relationships between the two institutions and thereby creating new joint opportunities.

The wealth of programs available at EPFL and the unique nature of PSL’s interdisciplinary programs blending the arts and sciences, humanities and social science create strong potential for collaboration.

The fields of research expected to fall under this agreement include creation and innovation in sensory design, applying theoretical and mathematical theory to “where life intersects,” social science, experimental physics and chemistry, the arts, new mechanisms of governance, and Big Data.
 
Exchange programs for faculty and researchers from both institutions are expected to spur new research and education projects in these fields, along with new conferences organized by the faculty involved. Student exchanges are also planned.
 
“Our partnership with Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne is the culmination of already excellent collaborative relationships between EPFL and PSL member institutions such as Observatoire de Paris, MINES ParisTech, École normale supérieure and ESPCI. Our agreement will pave the way for cross-disciplinary research in areas such as the digital humanities and big data and will strengthen the work of our teams already working together in the fields of materials, neuroscience, and physics, to name a few.” Thierry Coulhon, former President of Université PSL.

“As a French-speaking, technology-focused university, we maintain particularly close relationships with France’s scientific institutions. Our partnership with PSL is an opportunity to strengthen this solid joint foundation.” Patrick Aebischer, former president of École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).

 

About EPFL

 

EPFL is Europe’s most cosmopolitan university of technology. The school is host to students, faculty and staff from close to 120 different countries. Serving both Switzerland and the international community, the university is guided by an abiding commitment to openness. Its teaching, research and partnership missions reach into incredibly diverse worlds, including universities and engineering schools, developing and emerging countries, secondary schools and gyms, industry and the economy, political spheres, and the public at large.  

www.epfl.ch

EPFL

L’accord signé entre PSL et l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) en avril 2016 vise à développer des liens scientifiques forts entre les deux institutions et accroître ainsi de nouvelles opportunités partagées. 
 

La richesse des programmes de l’EPFL et l’originalité des programmes interdisciplinaires de Paris Sciences & Lettres, qui allient les sciences et les arts mais également les sciences humaines et sociales, offre ainsi un large potentiel de collaborations.

Parmi les domaines de recherche envisagés dans le cadre de cet accord figurent notamment la création et les innovations en matière de design sensoriel, le vivant aux interfaces étudié par les approches théoriques et mathématiques, les sciences sociales, la physique et la chimie expérimentales, l’étude des arts, les nouveaux mécanismes de gouvernance, le Big Data, … 
 

Des échanges d’enseignants-chercheurs, accueillis dans chacune des institutions, doivent ainsi favoriser de nombreux projets de recherche ou de formation dans ces domaines, enrichis par l’organisation de nombreuses conférences du corps professoral engagé. Des échanges d’étudiants sont également prévus.

 

 

« Le partenariat avec l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne est l’aboutissement des excellentes collaborations existantes entre l’EPFL et des membres de PSL comme l’Observatoire de Paris, Mines ParisTech, l’Ecole Normale Supérieure et l’ESPCI. Notre accord ouvre la voie à des domaines de recherche transdisciplinaire tels que les humanités numériques et le Big Data et renforce les équipes impliquées dans nos travaux communs en cours dans les domaines des matériaux, des neurosciences, et de la physique par exemple ». Thierry Coulhon, ancien président de Paris Sciences et Lettres (PSL) Research University.

« En tant qu'université francophone de technologie, nos relations avec les institutions scientifiques françaises sont particulièrement étroites. Notre partenariat avec PSL représente une opportunité de renforcer cette base commune ». Patrick Aebischer, ancien président de l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). 

 

A propos de l’EPFL

 

L'EPFL est la plus cosmopolite université technique européenne. Elle accueille des étudiants, professeurs et collaborateurs de près de 120 nationalités. A vocation à la fois suisse et internationale, elle est donc guidée par un souci constant d'ouverture ; ses missions d'enseignement, de recherche et de partenariat touchent les milieux les plus divers: universités et écoles d'ingénieurs, pays en développement et en émergence, écoles secondaires et gymnases, industrie et économie, milieux politiques et grand public.
www.epfl.ch