PKU - Peking University - Beida

Founded in 1898 as the Imperial University of Peking, Peking University (PKU, also nicknamed “Beida”) was the first modern national university established in China. Today, it is a world-renowned multidisciplinary research university that ranks as the top higher education institution in China.

PSL and Peking University signed an agreement in the summer of 2016 to develop strong research relationships between the two universities and increase joint opportunities in innovation, research, and student mobility.

The agreement seeks increased collaboration in fields such as technology, engineering, robotics, innovation and entrepreneurship, big data, the life sciences, sustainable development through social science, the arts, cultural management, and the protection of the common heritage of mankind.
Exchange programs for faculty and researchers from both institutions will spur new research and education projects in these fields, along with new conferences held by the faculty involved in these programs.

The agreement further strengthens the already excellent relationships cultivated between Peking University (Beida) and PSL’s member institutions, including École normale supérieure, École des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, École Pratique des Hautes Etudes, École Française d’Extrême-Orient, and MINES ParisTech.

 

About Peking University

Founded in 1898, Peking University, originally known as the Imperial University of Peking, was China’s first national university and was the highest administrative body for education in China at its founding. The university took on its current name in May of 1912. In 1952, in response to reforms underway in China, PKU became a key university in the humanities and social science, with priority placed on research. In April 2000, Peking University merged with Peking University of Medicine, which profoundly changed its composition and diversity. In 2005, its engineering college was rebuilt. Today, the university covers the natural sciences, engineering, and medical science, as well as social science, business administration, education, foreign languages, and many other fields. It has become a global institution of higher education in China.

Today, Peking University counts 40,000 students, 5 faculties, 64 colleges and departments, 115 fields of study, 3,600 international students, 74 members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and 13 members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering.
http://english.pku.edu.cn/

PKU - Peking University - Beida

Créée en 1898 sous le nom d’Université Impériale de Pékin, l’Université de Pékin (Peking University – PKU – surnommée « Beida ») est la première université nationale moderne chinoise. C’est aujourd’hui une université de recherche multi-disciplinaire de classe mondiale, première aux classements des universités chinoises. 

L’accord passé entre PSL et l’Université de Pékin à l’été 2016 vise à développer des liens scientifiques forts entre ces institutions et d’accroître les opportunités partagées en matière d’innovation, de recherche et de mobilité étudiante.

Parmi les domaines de collaboration envisagés dans le cadre de ces accords figurent notamment la technologie, l’ingénierie, la robotique, l’innovation et l’entrepreneuriat, le Big Data, les sciences de la vie, le développement durable à travers sciences sociales, les arts, le management culturel et la protection du patrimoine de l’humanité.

Des échanges d'enseignants-chercheurs, accueillis dans chacune des institutions, vont ainsi favoriser de nombreux projets de recherche ou de formation dans ces domaines, enrichis par l'organisation de nombreuses conférences du corps professoral engagé dans ces programmes.

Cet accord constitue une nouvelle étape des excellentes relations existantes entre l’Université de Pékin (Beida) et les établissements-membres de PSL, parmi lesquels figurent l’Ecole normale supérieure, l’Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, l’Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes, l’Ecole Française d’Extrême-Orient et Mines ParisTech.
 

A propos de l’Université de Pékin

Fondée en 1898, l'Université de Pékin, initialement nommée l'Université impériale de Pékin, fut la première université nationale ainsi que l'organe administratif suprême pour l'éducation en Chine à cette époque. En mai 1912, l'Université a pris son nom actuel. En 1952, pour répondre aux demandes de réformes du pays, l'Université est devenue une université clé dans le domaine des humanités et des sciences avec une priorité accordée à la recherche. En Avril 2000, l'Université de Pékin a fusionné avec l'Université de médecine de Pékin, ce qui a profondément modifié sa composition et sa diversité. En 2005, la faculté d’ingénierie a été reconstruite. Aujourd'hui, l'Université comprend les sciences naturelles, l'ingéniérie, les sciences médicales ainsi que les sciences humaines, les sciences sociales, le management, l’éducation, les langues étrangères et bien d’autres domaines pour devenir une institution globale d'enseignement supérieur en Chine.

L’université de Pékin compte actuellement 40.000 étudiants, 5 facultés, 64 collèges et départements, 115 disciplines, 3 600 étudiants internationaux, 74 académiciens de l'Académie chinoise des sciences, 13 académiciens de l'Académie chinoise d'ingénierie.
http://english.pku.edu.cn/