PSL-Environnement

Tara ship expedition

Director : Serge Planes (CNRS, EPHE)

PSL Environment, a flagship IDEX project under the leadership of Serge Planes, aims to promote interaction in the area of the environment, in line with a broad, panoramic vision and an inclusive, comprehensive approach. The program seeks to serve as a hub among PSL institutions.

With this program, PSL has created a unique opportunity to develop high-level, multidisciplinary research and teaching surrounding the great environmental issues of today, with a particular focus on society and the environment.

Its cross-disciplinary vision is simple: create new paradigms for reconciling environmental management and territorial development, providing scientific and technical solutions anchored in social and economic sustainability. 

The program has evolved in a bottom-up approach, starting with the creation of a scientific community that cuts across institutions and disciplines alike, to tackle the great challenges and objectives in environmental management today. The program serves as a clearinghouse and a hub, organizing annual roundtables and topical discussions, as well as scientific meetings among national and international experts. To ensure that its reach stretches beyond the role of serving as an ideas center, incentive funding has been established, as well as two large-scale programs on the Anthropocene Era, in close collaboration with Biosphere 2. The program has also coupled with the Fondation Tara for a large-scale exhibition, the “Tara Pacific,” to bring greater visibility to PSL in the world of environmental science. As part of an EUR project, the program is working to establish multidisciplinary environmental education programs, yet another feature contributing to PSL Environment’s [XB1] identity as a center for excellence.


 [XB1]Idem

PSL-Environnement

Bateau Tara expedition

Directeur : Serge Planes (CNRS, EPHE)

Projet phare de l'IdEx piloté par Serge Planes, PSL Environnement a pour objectif de promouvoir les interactions autour du concept d’environnement avec une vision panoramique très large et une approche globalisante et intégrative. Ce programme se veut fédérateur au sein des différents établissements de PSL.

En créant ce programme, PSL offre une chance unique de développer, sur les grandes questions environnementales, une recherche et un enseignement de haut niveau, multidisciplinaires, entièrement tournés vers la société.

Son ambition, transdisciplinaire, est simple : créer de nouveaux paradigmes pouvant réconcilier gestion environnementale et développement des territoires, solutions scientifiques et techniques et soutenabilités sociale et économique.

Le déploiement de ce programme se fait par une approche bottom-up et par la création d’une communauté scientifique transversale aux établissements et aux disciplines sur des questions, des objets d’actualités en matière de gestion de l’environnement. La mise en place de cet espace d’échanges se fait par l’intermédiaire de tables rondes annuelles et de débats thématiques, de réunions scientifiques autour d’experts nationaux et internationaux. Pour aller au delà d’un lieu d’échanges d’odée, des financements incitatifs sont mis en place ainsi que deux programmes plus larges sur l’anthropocène et en collaboration sur Biosphère 2. Enfin, le pôle à souhaiter s’engager avec la fondation Tara pour une grande expédition, « Tara Pacific », pour porter la lisibilité de PSL dans les sciences de l’environnement. Dans le cadre d’un projet d’EUR, le pôle souhaite mettre en place un enseignement pluridisciplinaire sur l’environnement pour au final constituer un pôle d’excellence.